Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
11

WIP May 24

Sharing new musical ideas & learning to be vulnerable
11

There comes a time in any creative person’s life/career where one has to acknowledge they can’t do everything they wished they could. It’s probably the most important realisation we can have.

I believe I’m a much better musician and composer now than I’ve ever been. That’s not because I have exponentially improved in recent times. In fact, I have *probably* / certainly played the piano “better” at other, more engaged, and certainly more practiced periods of life.

However, I have a much stronger idea now than I’ve ever had of what I am not, and what I have not become, which - strange, though it seems - enables me to have much more confidence in myself and what I can do, by virtue of an awareness of what I’m not as good at.

I’ve written elsewhere about composing within limits - putting parameters in place to enable, somewhat paradoxically, a greater freedom within our writing and creative musical intentions. See below…

However, I do think an important part of what I hope is a never-ending journey towards a true understanding of our creative practice, is the acknowledgement of where there are gaps in our skills and abilities to be able to do the things we want to do.

There’s definitely a longer article for this, but a big part of this is especially applicable and apparent when sharing new work. I think it’s fair to say most creative people are predominantly only happy to share something new when the work has been “finished”, and is in what we deem to be an acceptable presentable condition.

Of course, this is a very difficult thing to do, but I am trying to further develop my awareness, understanding and belief that we learn, grow and connect with others most when we share the parts of us that are less curated and pristine.

Vulnerability. It hurts to be vulnerable, but we often grow the most when it requires us to put the hard work in.

Here’s a very new musical idea I’ve been toying with in recent days. As you’ll hear, I don’t always play it correctly, or, at least, as I intended to (can a piece be played correctly if it has not been finished?!), but I have taken the view that I - and I hope you, too - will benefit more from this spirit of openness and vulnerability, rather than only sharing something when it has been “finished” and is presentable.

After all, it is very much a Work In Progress.

Rather than leading the discussion or pointing you in the direction of anything in particular, I’d be very keen to hear your initial thoughts about this idea; its style; anything to do with the general musicality; how you envisage it sounding or being arranged further down the line; and any other thoughts at all?

There’s nothing off-limits here.

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts.

Discussion about this podcast

The Cut Through: Simeon Walker
The Cut Through: Simeon Walker